Home Page

Newton Primary School

Rooted in love and care

Members of the Governing Body

The Governing Body

The Governing Body comprises of volunteers drawn from the Staff, Parents, Local Authority (LA) and

Community members from the wider community. Governors come from a wide range of backgrounds

with a diverse range of skills and expertise. Governors serve for a term of four years.



Name Type of Governor Date appointed Term expires

Mrs Julie Herring

Chair of Governor

Co-opted Governor

01.04.15 01.04.19

Mrs Gill Cockhead

Vice Chair of Governors

Co-opted Governor





Mrs Ann Abineri Clerk to the Governing Body 03.09.11 N/A

Mr Mike Cropley

LA Appointed Governor 17.02.17 17.02.21

Mrs Alana Brown

Headteacher 01.09.11 N/A
Mrs Sarah Card Teaching Staff  Governor 18.10.16 18.10.20
Mrs Sylvia McSweeney Support Staff Governor 01.04.15 01.04.19
Mr Martin Lines Co-opted Governor 01.04.15 01.04.19
Mrs Gwyneth Mitchell Co-opted Governor 01.04.15 01.04.19
Mr Steve Taylor Parent Governor 29.06.16 29.06.20
Mrs Sarah Hepworth Parent Governor 15.05.17 15.05.21
Mrs Davina Carver Parent Governor 11.11.15 11.11.19
Mrs Jenny Booth Parent Governor 29.06.16 29.06.20